Este post ha sido escrito en nuestro registro de cambios:
22
Block other users
Shipped
B
butyougotmysoulNov 8, 2023
a feature to block other users from seeing our activity and reviews.
Comentarios
a feature to block other users from seeing our activity and reviews.
Don't test this out with actual TSG friends/people you have interactions with!!
But please do test it out for me before I announce it more widely later on this week. :-D
Nadia seems to be working well for me, I was able to block a few people I had been wanting to block, and I'm unable to see their reviews (which was the main thing for me)
What should happen, if anything, if you block a user who is currently taking part in a reading challenge you're hosting?
Nadia Similar to other features, they’re removed from the challenge and can’t see it or any of that information at all. I’d want my profile and everything associated with it to be hidden from them even if it impacted their reading experience with challenges
Current plan
Blocking a user will entail:
Have we covered everything?
Nadia the only thing I can think of aside from everything you mentioned would be if the blocker and the blocked person join the same public read along or buddy read, but I dont know what a solution would be
firefairy214 We discussed that and figured that for now we'd leave that up to either party being able to leave. As you imply, it's a tricky one as there'd be other people's comments/conversation involved. Thank you!
Nadia Maybe their comment could be replaced by something like "a blocked user made this comment" from your own view? So you can both still participate, you just won't see each other's comments
cdonegan Yes, we considered that. But then we think we might need to allow for revealing those comments in case it's key to a discussion...then it becomes a bigger feature. For now, we've decided to leave as is and use user experience to dictate the best way to handle it but that does sound like the best way.
Nadia Makes sense, thanks for replying! :)
Nadia perhaps if this is an issue that needs to be settled, it just messages the second person that is trying to join, and lets them know that a blocked individual has already joined the buddy read/book club and reroute them to the search bars for finding a new buddy read/club?
miserableflower Thank you for the suggestion. Not sure about that one though, again, because it's public, and it could draw attention to a block and also somebody could then use that functionality in a punitive way.
Nadia What happens if somebody blocks the owner of a book club they are member of?
imaginary_space I think their membership will stay in tact and it'll be on that person to leave the club.
As part of this, I'd also love to block users so that I don't see their reviews. Sometimes I see a user who has such a completely different philosophy that their reviews are just incredibly unhelpful (and occasionally insulting) and it would be nice to be able to just block the user and not worry about seeing their reviews.
kestrellady Yes, once blocked, it'll be like they don't exist to you in the app. That's the plan anyway!
kestrellady Yesss, this way it would also be helpful as long as we cannot tag reviews that contain spoilers, this way I can just make sure I don't see that reviewer's reviews again
This will come!
Nadia Much appreciated!