Voters
N
M
R
A
C
+4
Powered by Noora
9
(Mobile) Design, User Interface, and User Experience Review
This week
N
Nadia

70% of people use The StoryGraph on mobile!

We've deployed a lot of great features recently, but not everyone enjoys the full effect of them. That could be because of poor design in places, a tricky user flow, something being hidden, etc.

We're taking some time to review your most painful experiences and address them to make the app even more of a joy to use!

Post below with any pain points you've noticed with the current design/setup, including screenshots where you have them! Please do point out design niggles/nitpicks also, however big or small!

This isn't about adding new features! This is about polishing/improving what's already there!

Comments
B
brittishliterature
Jan 22, 2022

With buddy reads being newly launched, one thing I've found on mobile is how much scrolling I have to do to get through comments. Especially now that there are multiple and sometimes long comments in the buddy read I'm doing, I think it could improve the flow of the page if there was a way to hide/minimize comments or sections. Maybe just a button to the side or a plus/minus icon, that lets me hide/unhide whole sections so that I can navigate the buddy read page easier without having to scroll so much.

1
M
mimi_reads
Jan 21, 2022

At some point, and this is sort of minor because it's not something I pay too much attention too, could we have a colour blind mode? I'm having some issues telling apart the moods on the pie chart (ex: adventurous and hopeful are a struggle to differentiate, and I really only can because of the white lines separating them and the fact my stats say I read mostly adventurous).

0
N
Nadia
Jan 22, 2022

In general, we need to make that chart much more accessible! Sorry for the poor experience with it.

0
E
elisahvdb
Dec 31, 2021

This is pretty minor, but when you add or update a review, I would love it if you were taken back to the list you came from (e.g. Read books) or even just the main book page instead of to the list of completed reviews when you're finished. Would make updating multiple reviews in succession much smoother, since right now you have to navigate "back" 3 or 4 times to get back to the list of books. Thanks for all your work on this, the new improvements and features are amazing!

5
F
fell4
Dec 23, 2021

I wish the add review button was bigger (on desktop too). When I first started using storygraph, it took me weeks to realize I could add reviews.

6
E
emfass
Nov 5, 2021

I can't tell if this is related to brittishliterature's comment or not, but I would LOVE to be able to add another reading journal entry from the Reading Journal page. I often pop over to add an entry while I'm reading for a content warning, a quote, etc. But then I keep reading and if I come across something else, I have to go back to the book's page and then click "add note" again - would be amazing to reduce the number of clickthroughs!

0
N
Nadia
Nov 6, 2021

It's not related, but we definitely plan to add this functionality regardless! It just didn't fit into the body of work when we first offered progress updates.

0
B
brittishliterature
Oct 8, 2021

When navigating to the reading journal for a particular book, it shows all the entries chronologically perfectly fine. But then when I edit an entry from that page, once I click Update, it always just reloads a couple of journal entries for the book. It's a bit of a pain, because if I edit an entry, I have to go all the way back to the book page and then all the way back to the journal in order for it show all the entries again. There's not a way to just go back to that previous page with all the entries for that book. It would be soooo helpful if once I clicked Update on an entry, it reloaded the reading journal page correctly.

before.JPG
after.JPG
2
N
Nadia
Oct 9, 2021

Hello! This is a bug I know of that I need to fix! I have some code that says: take the user back to the last page they were one (because you can be on the full reading journal page or one for a specific book) and right now that code is including the specific "page" of records shown (as we paginate for like 5 to a page). Sorry for the inconvenience. Will hopefully be fixed soon.

3
B
breezer
Sep 16, 2021

I think my biggest problem at the moment is the way you can add books to reading challenges. It takes alot of clicks and referencing backwards and forwards to add books to all the challenges.

4
N
Nadia
Sep 17, 2021

That's something on my list for these fixes! :-)

3
B
breezer
Sep 17, 2021

Oh amazing!

0
K
kestrellady
Aug 18, 2021

I'd like to be able to share links to the book webpages from the app. When I share books with friends, I like to send them to the StoryGraph pages so they can look at synopsis/reviews, etc., but I can't really do that from the mobile app.

1
N
Nadia
Aug 23, 2021

Hello! Are you using the Android app? If so, share links will be coming soon. They're available in the iOS app!

1
K
kestrellady
Aug 23, 2021

Yes, on Android. That's great to hear!

1
O
onegin
Aug 5, 2021

Hi! Is there a way to share the link to (public) tags in the app? At least I couldn't find it (I use the android app), so I had to go to the browser, open the tag there, and copy the link.

0
N
Nadia
Aug 23, 2021

Hello! Not yet, sorry. But there will be soon!

0
N
Nadia
May 24, 2021

@cheesepuppy, it's one of those things that would make sense closer to the dropdown, but doesn't fit with the current layout.

I'm hoping that, for now, once people see where it is, they'll know going forward. Until it can be redesigned.

@ebbookworm — that is definitely not a general issue. Can you please email in to support@thestorygraph.com stating which phone you're using and exactly what's happening? The app has the same functionality as the website, so everything should be working there for you!

0
E
ebbookworm
May 23, 2021

The update progress button doesn’t seem to be working in the “app”. I have to go to the fool mobile website to update the progress.

0
C
cheesepuppy
May 10, 2021

With the new update, the review button isn't super obvious. When I chose "read", I had to look around for the "add review" link. I think it might make more sense to be closer to the dropdown.

While we're talking about this drop-down, could "read" be changed for something like "finished"? That would differentiate from the different meanings of the word "read".

Screen Shot 2021-05-10 at 1.08.25 PM.png
3
_
_ziyodan
Oct 10, 2021

I agree with this and in a similar vein the button for seeing community reviews is very small and can be hard to see

0
N
Nadia
May 9, 2021

The main redesign is now live, but there's lots of other improvements I'll be working on over the coming weeks.

I'm also going to be weaving in other features too!

0
M
meha
Apr 22, 2021

Can I make a plug for siri integration? When I 'm driving and listening to a book or podcast that's recommending new books to me, it would be so awesome to say "Hey Siri, add 'book title' to my storygraph!"

1
C
christycorr
Apr 19, 2021

This may require wider considerations regarding tagging and it's super nitpicky, but just in case it's helpful: I always find deleting tags after I tap on the wrong one by mistake a bit clunky. The backspace key doesn't delete the whole tag (and selecting the tiny [x] is hard on mobile), so you have to delete it letter by letter. It doesn't bother me much on my computer, but it takes a lot of taps on mobile.

5
L
livinginmyfantasy
Apr 8, 2021

This one might just be personal preference, but the tag-list being center aligned and in two columns makes it harder to scan and find the tag I’m looking for. Especially since some of the longer names get split over multiple lines.

550681CE-DAD0-4BE3-9C61-4BA3CD37899D.png
5
L
livinginmyfantasy
Apr 8, 2021

When comparing genre stats the No of books label is attached to the wrong axis (happens with time period as well as tag comparison)

EFF05080-669F-43E4-B3F5-041218EE0A8B.jpeg
4
L
livinginmyfantasy
Apr 8, 2021

There seems to be something wrong with the width of the select-boxes, because when they’re open I can scroll horizontally and see extra whitespace (tested this on a few different places where this type of input is used and it happened every time).

6FE338C2-22D9-4BBC-8742-BBC833A6EE31.png
3
L
livinginmyfantasy
Apr 8, 2021

Since you said nitpicking is allowed:
It would be nice if the blue footer wasn’t sticky over the main content but just shown at the very bottom of the page.
The actions inside the footer seem to be less important than the other content on the page, so any space that’s freed up for the regular content on a small screen would be a win.

04167AE5-4E33-487A-B5E1-DA826CAC6738.png
5
N
Nadia
Apr 8, 2021

@biblioseph, this isn't to do with our app (especially as this roadmap site is not our software, but another website completely), but with your phone keyboard. Are you using GBoard as your keyboard by any chance? There are known similar bugs to do with this. Perhaps email support@thestorygraph.com to continue this conversation, quoting this post!

1
B
biblioseph
Apr 8, 2021

When I use the app on android, filling in text boxes can glitch a lot. Words will double or letters repeat endlessly, and I'm not sure why this happens in this app but no others. Its worse on the roadmap (making this site unusable on my phone) but it seems to be similar, so I'm mentioning it. I've only noticed it since using the reading journal. However, just now I tried to make it happen and couldn't, so maybe its already been resolved!

ETA: I thought it might be irrelevant, but haven't had the issue outside tSG. Since I haven't been able to provoke it again, I'll just shelve it. I appreciate that you responded, all the same! Should I delete my comment?

1
N
Nadia
Apr 8, 2021
Set the status to
This week
0